Can ChatGPT or Claude place trades for you?
Checked Oct 2026. It depends on the broker connector: some let the agent submit an order, some only draft one, and some only read, and whether an order needs your confirmation by default varies.
Checked on 2026-10-20. No business relationship with these companies.
The rows are the official connectors on the broker connectors page, in alphabetical order.
Agent orders is yes when the linked source says the connector can submit an order, draft-only when that source says it creates an instruction you submit, and read-only when that source says it cannot place a trade. Confirmation by default is yes, no, or not stated in docs. Paper or sandbox is yes when that source names a paper, demo, or sandbox path, and not stated in docs otherwise.
| Connector | Agent orders | Confirmation by default | Paper or sandbox | Source | Date checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alpaca MCP | yes | not stated in docs | yes | Alpaca MCP | 2026-10-20 |
| Axi MT5 MCP | yes | yes | not stated in docs | Axi MT5 MCP | 2026-10-20 |
| cTrader MCP | yes | not stated in docs | not stated in docs | cTrader MCP | 2026-10-20 |
| eToro Agent Portfolios | yes | not stated in docs | not stated in docs | eToro Agent Portfolios | 2026-10-20 |
| eToro MCP | yes | yes | yes | eToro MCP | 2026-10-20 |
| Interactive Brokers MCP | draft-only | yes | not stated in docs | Interactive Brokers MCP | 2026-10-20 |
| Match-Trader Broker Management MCP | read-only | not stated in docs | not stated in docs | Match-Trader Broker Management MCP | 2026-10-20 |
| moomoo MCP | yes | not stated in docs | not stated in docs | moomoo MCP | 2026-10-20 |
| NinjaTrader MCP | yes | yes | yes | NinjaTrader MCP | 2026-10-20 |
| Public MCP | yes | no | not stated in docs | Public MCP | 2026-10-20 |
| Questrade MCP | draft-only | yes | not stated in docs | Questrade MCP | 2026-10-20 |
| Robinhood Trading MCP | yes | no | not stated in docs | Robinhood Trading MCP | 2026-10-20 |
| tastytrade MCP | yes | yes | yes | tastytrade MCP | 2026-10-20 |
| The5ers MCP | read-only | not stated in docs | not stated in docs | The5ers MCP | 2026-10-20 |
| TradeStation MCP | yes | yes | not stated in docs | TradeStation MCP | 2026-10-20 |
| Tradier MCP | yes | not stated in docs | yes | Tradier MCP | 2026-10-20 |
| Webull Cloud MCP | draft-only | yes | not stated in docs | Webull Cloud MCP | 2026-10-20 |
| Webull Local MCP | yes | not stated in docs | yes | Webull Local MCP | 2026-10-20 |
Each cell is what the linked source states for that connector. A client setting can be stricter or looser. Read the source before you rely on the default.
Check an order before it goes out
Paste the order into Agent Order Check before it goes out. The check runs in the browser. The kill switch is a control the agent can read and cannot change. Use a paper or sandbox path when that row says yes. Paper first. Not financial advice.
Agents that trade from a fenced sub-account (checked 2026-10-20)
Checked 2026-10-20. Each cell below is only what the linked source says.
| Product | What the agent can do | How it goes live | Where it trades / who funds it | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Binance AI Pro | Builds strategies from plain-language prompts as a visual workflow (Binance release). | Strategies can be tested with paper trading on virtual funds before live deployment. Going live requires a separate review-and-approve step. Strategies can be paused, adjusted, or revoked (Binance release). Any change to strategy logic creates a new version that needs approval again. Binance's code check confirms the logic runs without errors and does not assess profitability, quality, or likely performance (Unchained). | Live strategies run in a dedicated AI Strategy Account, a virtual sub-account isolated from the main account. Only the user can fund it, by manual transfer. The agent cannot move funds by itself. Supports Spot and USDS-M Futures, subject to regional restrictions (Binance release). | Binance release, Oct 19, 2026. Unchained. |
| Interactive Brokers Autonomous AI Trading | Eligible clients can connect the AI agent of their choice and authorize it to trade autonomously. Works with any compatible MCP client or AI platform (Fool transcript, Benzinga transcript). | Available to eligible clients in several countries, with more to follow. IBKR described it as a very limited rollout, about 3,000 clients invited, all of whom had used its human-in-the-loop AI connector (Fool transcript, Benzinga transcript). | Clients create and fund a dedicated partition inside their existing account (Fool transcript, Benzinga transcript). | Fool transcript. Benzinga transcript. IBKR AI integrations. |
The public AI integrations page still says the AI drafts instructions and instructions never become orders automatically.
The order check and the kill switch are checks that sit outside the agent.
Paper first. Not financial advice.
Questions people ask
Can ChatGPT or Claude place trades for you?
Checked Oct 2026. It depends on the broker connector: some let the agent submit an order, some only draft one, and some only read, and whether an order needs your confirmation by default varies.
Which connectors let the agent submit an order?
Alpaca MCP, Axi MT5 MCP, cTrader MCP, eToro Agent Portfolios, eToro MCP, moomoo MCP, NinjaTrader MCP, Public MCP, Robinhood Trading MCP, tastytrade MCP, TradeStation MCP, Tradier MCP, Webull Local MCP. Checked 2026-10-20.
Which connectors only draft an order or only read?
Draft-only: Interactive Brokers MCP, Questrade MCP, Webull Cloud MCP. Read-only: Match-Trader Broker Management MCP, The5ers MCP. Checked 2026-10-20. Interactive Brokers MCP in that list is the public connector. The AI integrations page still says the AI drafts instructions and instructions never become orders automatically. A separate very limited Autonomous AI Trading rollout invited about 3,000 clients who had used that human-in-the-loop connector (Fool transcript, Benzinga transcript).
Which connectors need confirmation on each order by default?
Yes: Axi MT5 MCP, eToro MCP, Interactive Brokers MCP, NinjaTrader MCP, Questrade MCP, tastytrade MCP, TradeStation MCP, Webull Cloud MCP. No: Public MCP, Robinhood Trading MCP. Not stated in docs: Alpaca MCP, cTrader MCP, eToro Agent Portfolios, Match-Trader Broker Management MCP, moomoo MCP, The5ers MCP, Tradier MCP, Webull Local MCP. Checked 2026-10-20. The Interactive Brokers MCP confirmation is the public connector. The AI integrations page still says instructions never become orders automatically. Autonomous AI Trading is separate: an eligible client can authorize an agent to trade autonomously, in a very limited rollout of about 3,000 invited clients (Fool transcript, Benzinga transcript).
Which connectors state a paper or sandbox path?
Yes: Alpaca MCP, eToro MCP, NinjaTrader MCP, tastytrade MCP, Tradier MCP, Webull Local MCP. Not stated in docs: Axi MT5 MCP, cTrader MCP, eToro Agent Portfolios, Interactive Brokers MCP, Match-Trader Broker Management MCP, moomoo MCP, Public MCP, Questrade MCP, Robinhood Trading MCP, The5ers MCP, TradeStation MCP, Webull Cloud MCP. Checked 2026-10-20.
Educational only. Not financial advice.